William Kernot Stained Glass

Uni Melbourne School of Engineering presentation cover
Uni Melbourne School of Engineering presentation open
Uni Melbourne School of Engineering presentation stained glass
Uni Melbourne School of Engineering presentation inscription

Melbourne University

Melbourne University required a memorable gift for distinguished overseas guests. The gift needed to be significant and leave a memorable reminder of their visiting experience.

Inside the William Kernot building at the University there is an antique stained glass window that has been fully restored – below you will find some interesting information about its historical significance.

The Wizarts had the William Kernot window photographed, which was then printed Lithographically onto a premium 350 GSM art board and coated with a Matt cello sheen.

The print was then foil stamped with a transparent shatter glass holographic foil. After this certain areas of the image was embossed with a letter press machine. Finally it was mounted in a tailor made leather album with the university logo foiled stamped in white foil on the cover. The final result was amazing and the photo here does not do it justice.

This beautiful stained glass window was rescued during the demolition of the Kernot family Italianate villa “Firenze”, which was built on Royal Parade, Parkville, Melbourne, in 1880 by Professor William Charles Kernot, Foundation Professor of Engineering from 1883 to 1909 at the University of Melbourne. This particular arch shaped restored window, now hanging in the School of Engineering is the top part of the original staircase window at “Firenze”. The centrepiece of the window contains the intertwined initials “WCK” (William Charles Kernot) in strong primary colours, surrounded by delicate flowers, acanthus leaves and tracery and the window is attributed on stylistic grounds to the well-known Victorian company Ferguson & Urie.